What Job Would You Have in Britain During the 1920s?

If you worked in Britain during the 1920s, what kind of job would you have?

A fun infographic from the UK’s OnStride Financial blog  attempts to answer this question, using a cheerful, colorful flow chart. Sadly, none of them coincide with Downton Abbey—but they’re still pretty interesting.

The salary ranges were particularly surprising, at least to me. English bankers, I was surprised to learn, made significantly less during that time than I thought—and telephone operators made a heck of a lot more. Farmers, of course, made very little, something which is often overlooked in talking about the 1920s (it didn’t “roar” for everyone, you know).

There was one job, however, that stood out as particularly English to me, mostly because it sounded like a hold-over from the Victorian Age: the “Knocker-Upper.”

Being an ignorant American, I’d never heard of that job, but Wikipedia, the BBC, and MentalFloss assure me it was a real job, and an important way to ensure that industrial workers got up on time for work before reliable alarm clocks existed. The fact that it continued well into the 1970s in parts of England, however, was amazing to me.

Most of these jobs, though, look pretty fun. So which job would you have during England in the 1920s? Let me know in the comments below! 🙂

~*~

~*~

By the way, if you’d like to explore the sources OnStride used to figure out average salaries and such, just scroll to the bottom of the original infographic here on their blog post.

About lupachi1927

My name's Megan. I'm a writer with an interest in history. While I might not be a real historian, I'm a very thorough researcher! :) This blog is my place to post about all the interesting historical tidbits I find that can't use in the novel I'm working on, which takes place in Chicago in 1927.
This entry was posted in infographic, link post and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Job Would You Have in Britain During the 1920s?

  1. I had two possible paths, one ending with Dressmaker, the other in Telephone Operator, both making more money annually than my poor main character Harold who is a farmer in this era. (PS – thanks for the link to the originally cited sources!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

