New Online Resources Page!

Hello everyone! Just wanted to post that there’s a new “online resources” page added to the menu bar area. It’s where I’ll be adding links to online resources regarding 1920s history. There’s just a few links now, but I’ll add more over time—and if there’s a link you’d like added, please let me know! πŸ™‚

About lupachi1927

My name's Megan. I'm a writer with an interest in history. While I might not be a real historian, I'm a very thorough researcher! :) This blog is my place to post about all the interesting historical tidbits I find that can't use in the novel I'm working on, which takes place in Chicago in 1927.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Online Resources Page!

  1. jazzfeathers says:

    That’s a very nice starting for a resources list.
    You know what I’m more sad about? Living in Europe, I didn’t have access to any of the libreries and collections. I don’t want to think what I might have found there… 😦

    Like

    • lupachi1927 says:

      I can’t imagine! So you started writing your series while still in Europe? Why did you pick the 1920s in America? Not that it isn’t awesome of course ;)—but then, so was Europe at that time.

      Like

      • jazzfeathers says:

        Well, I never really though about it. I’ve been a fan of b/w 1930/1940 American films (especially mysteries) since I was a child. It kind of came naturally.
        But now I’m also toying with an idea set in Europe… though it stil eludes me. But I’ll get to it, eventually πŸ˜‰

        Like

      • lupachi1927 says:

        Ah you love film noir? Me too! What’s your favorite film??? πŸ™‚

        Like

      • jazzfeathers says:

        Now don’t laugh, but when I was a kid i loved Charlie Chan movies (they still air them on tv,, back then). Not film noir, but…
        It’s been ages since last I watched them. Don’t know what I’d think about them today.

        One of the films I liked the most while reserching my novel (I watched quite a few silent movies) is Underworld. I find it to be quite modern for that time. The characters are among the most interesting I’ve come across in silent movies.

        Like

      • lupachi1927 says:

        OMG I love Underworld!!!!! I’ve seen a ton of silent films too, and that’s one of my favorites! Did you know it was Sternberg’s first narrative film? Prior to that he only made Surrealist pieces without any connecting narrative. It’s a gorgeous film. I love his use of light and interesting characters—Feathers was wonderful :). I watch a lot of silent films for research, too, besides film noir. Have you seen “The Penalty”? It’s an early Lon Cheney film about a guy who loses his legs in a botched operation and becomes an underworld kingpin to take revenge on the doctor who destroyed his legs. It’s a bizarre premise but an interesting film. Cheney’s physical performance is absolutely amazing. He actually strapped his legs into a harness behind him to shoot the whole movie. It gave him back problems for the rest of his life, but the sense of reality it lent to his performance is considerable. The film’s got a crazy twist ending too. From 1920, I think. Do you have any film recommendations?

        Like

      • jazzfeathers says:

        Eh, eh… where do you think my handle (JazzFEATHERS) comes from? πŸ˜‰

        I haven’t see ‘The Penalty’ yet, though it is on my to-watch list (I still have tons of films on my to-watch list).

        Two I also enjoyed, though they are comedies, not noir, are ‘The Show-off’ with Louise Brooks and ‘It’ with Clara Bow.

        What about you? Any suggestion?

        Like

  2. lupachi1927 says:

    Hmm, for silent film suggestions…well, the last one I saw was excellent. It’s an early gangster picture from 1927, and I really loved it because it had a very “ripped from the headlines” feel since it referred directly to bootlegging and such. A police captain takes on a powerful bootlegger who’s being protected by corrupt politicians. It’s a total fantasy given the reality of the times, of course, but it’s great fun to watch. Marie Provost is adorable in it, and Louis Wolheim is wonderful. It was an oscar nominee in 1929, apparently. Please note, however, that they made another version of this film in 1951 starring Robert Mitchum—-so if you go to rent or order it, make sure you’re not getting Mitchum. Not that there’s anything wrong with him, of course. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

