Hello out there, all you Shieks and Shebas!

Hello, and welcome to A Smile And A Gun!  Here you’ll find interesting historical tidbits about Chicago during the Roaring Twenties, when Al Capone ruled the streets, politicians were on the make, jazz was hot, and the booze could kill quicker than a bullet from the Beer Wars!

Most of the content here comes from the many hours of research I’ve done for a novel I’m working on.  During my research I’ve come across a lot of interesting information that I can’t work into my novels–so I thought I’d make it into a blog instead.  While I’m no certified historian, I’ve done my best to cite my sources where appropriate.  Hopefully, you’ll find all these tidbits just as entertaining and educational as I did.  Enjoy! 🙂

About lupachi1927

My name's Megan. I'm a writer with an interest in history. While I might not be a real historian, I'm a very thorough researcher! :) This blog is my place to post about all the interesting historical tidbits I find that can't use in the novel I'm working on, which takes place in Chicago in 1927.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hello out there, all you Shieks and Shebas!

  1. jazzfeathers says:

    Hi there! How exciting! I’m writing a story set in Twenties Chicago too (though mine is a ghost story, so I have quite a bit of speculative elements as well.)
    I did lots of research myself and I’m trying to post some of it on my blog to, so… looks like we were destined to meet 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • lupachi1927 says:

      Wow, it sounds like you’re writing about the same thing as me, practically! My story is also speculative fiction, to be honest—technically it’s a paranormal murder mystery, but it’s set in the 20s and I use historical research to ground my more supernatural elements. For example, the fairies in my setting are heavily involved in local labor politics and the IWW.

      Your ghost story sounds fascinating. Are you including elements of Spiritualism, like mediums and such?

      Thanks so much for replying, by the by. I’m new here and it’s great to think someone out there’s reading this stuff. I can’t wait to see what kinds of things you post! Maybe we can help one another out with research. Thanks again! 🙂

      Like

  2. jazzfeathers says:

    A paranormal murder mystery set in the Twenties??? There’s no way I’m not reading it!!!!

    Hey, say, today’s Sunday. I’ve been involved in the 8 Sentence Sunday on Dieselpunks for a few months now. Basically, we (and ‘we’ are mostly dieselpunk writers, but there’s the odd steampunk mix in it) post 8 sentence from one of their stories and get comments from the others. This takes place on a Dieselpunks forum here http://www.dieselpunks.org/group/authors/page/8-sentence-sunday-on-dieselpunks in case you’d feel like joining (Dieselpunks.org sponsors this), but some of us also post the snippets on our own blogs too.
    Just saying 😉

    And really, we seem to write about the same things. I’d say, let’s share info, when this is possible!

    Well, no, technically the supernatural element in my story doesn’t include Spiritualism, at least not mediums and such. My supernatural system is based on Lakota spirituality (my two main characters are Lakota) and other similar forms of spirituality.

    Like

  3. lupachi1927 says:

    Thanks for the community invite. Does it need to be Dieselpunk, though? I looked through the site and some examples involve things like robots, and others don’t. Technically I’m writing more hard-boiled-esque stuff with lots of urban fantasy. Does that matter? Perhaps I’ll just post a piece on my own blog instead. Regardless, thanks! 🙂

    Lakota spirituality, huh? That sounds really interesting! I’m sorry to say I don’t know much about them. However, I could give you info on Bronzeville (I took the liberty of glancing over your blog and saw that you mentioned that as part of your research).

    Like

Leave a Reply

